To market, to market…

Two weeks of pure adrenaline and I haven’t thrown in the towel….yet. I’m talking about the launch of my new online boutique, Cloak and Curio. I am thankful for each Facebook “Like” and Twitter “Follow,” as well as all the kind words that people have sent me. It’s really affirming to know others can also see the vision for the business and there is a shared excitement and appreciation for what it will grow into. I’m flat out exhausted…but I’m also finding new stores of energy from the mental workout and decision-making that comes with being a business owner.

The goal of last week was to market the heck out of the business with zero budget. I had to stretch my creativity and take a few big steps outside of my comfort zone (did you read about my Twitter experience in my last blog post?). It was interesting to watch what worked, and what didn’t. Here are three of my lessons learned/observations in case this is helpful for anyone considering a start-up venture with little to no money to invest:

1. “I’m talkin’ to the man in the mirror…”

I found it very helpful to think about my own shopping preferences and habits and use these as a guide for figuring out how I wanted to connect with my potential customers. This exercise led to decisions about how I wanted to use email, Facebook and Twitter, and how frequently I wanted to send messages. I was also able to figure out a strategy for using each medium uniquely rather than simply duplicating messages.

2. Smiles are free…but your cheeks might get sore

I knew that it was critical to network on and offline, but I didn’t fully appreciate the time, energy, and mental stamina that goes into keeping up a social media profile for a business. It takes a lot, but it’s probably the most fun and rewarding part of marketing when you start to see perfect strangers following and interacting with you.

3. Big brother has some good ideas

Big biz spends a lot of money on marketing research and trends. There are also things they get wrong. If you’re observant, you’ll be able to pick up on how to (or not to) word your email subject lines, Facebook posts and Tweets to be eye-catching and increase traffic to your site. You can also learn a lot about what time of day to send out emails and when to post on social sites.

As I said, if you have anything you’d like to add, the soapbox is all yours now. 🙂

In a future post, I’ll talk about some of the preliminary decisions I had to make such as which e-commerce platform to use and where my logo came from.

Please leave a comment!

