15 minutes of lame

Just today, my almost-10-month-old son decided that holding his own bottle during feeding time was not a sign of parental neglect, but a step towards independence. Not only that, but he sat quietly on his own while drinking!

This allows me an extra 15 minutes (two daytime feedings x 7.5 minutes each) to be a little more productive each day. I’m pretty stoked, but my husband doesn’t get why I’m so excited.

[Moms (and domestic Dads), let’s keep our collective sighing and chuckling to the end so it’s not distracting for others…]

As I was saying, what can I possibly do in 7.5 minutes x 2? *crinkle, crinkle – pulling speech out of back pocket* Ahem, I believe I have a little something prepared for this occasion:

My list of things to accomplish in 15 minutes split into two 7.5 minute segments

First 7.5 minutes

  • Let the dog out for a pee
  • Use the bathroom myself
  • Let the dog in
  • Take 2 big sips of cold coffee
  • Run (taking-corners-on-one-foot speed) around the house collecting laundry, then start laundry in washing machine
  • Unload dishwasher
  • Wipe down kitchen counters
  • Flash-tidy the playroom
  • Check Twitter, Facebook and email, refreshing 3 times over just to make sure I didn’t miss anything or there wasn’t an issue with replicating
  • Breathe for 30 seconds and think about what to make for dinner

Second 7.5 minutes

  • Pre-heat oven
  • Use the bathroom
  • Eat 7 almonds, take one big swig of vod… (kidding!!)..water
  • Put chicken fries in oven (carbs and protein in one = food efficiency)
  • Toss laundry (washing-machine-will-self-destruct-in-5-4-3-… speed) from washing machine to dryer
  • Check Twitter, Facebook and email, refreshing 3 times over just to make sure I didn’t miss anything or there wasn’t an issue with replicating
  • Remove chicken fries from oven to cool
  • Make list of to-do’s for tomorrow
  • Breathe for 30 seconds and contemplate what to blog about in the evening

*cue Rocky theme song*

Please leave a comment!

