DIY: Holiday newspaper craft – Take 2

Who doesn’t love a festive Christmas hat? Especially one made from upcycled Holiday flyers? My daughter, that’s who.

This is the second post in my mini-series about finding the perfect (quick and easy) Holiday upcycled newspaper/flyer craft. As I mentioned in the first post, if you’re looking for something lovely and magazine-ready, you better hit the ‘back’ button because you need to keep looking. If you’d like to share and commiserate about authentic crafting experiences, then you’ve found the right place!

Fold a flyer into a cone shape and secure with tape (not glue).

Fold a flyer into a cone shape and secure with tape (not glue).

My first attempt was messy and not easy, and it really didn’t turn out very well. This time, I’m quite satisfied with the result….buuuuut, my daughter could care less.

My Dad actually used to make me hats like this when I was little so I thought it would be a cool and nostalgic thing to do for my little girl….and it’s really quite simple. We used to use plain paper and decorate the hats afterwards, but I knew this wouldn’t work well for my daughter who has a very short attention span. Using a flyer makes the hat automatically more colourful, and I particularly like the frilly bit at the top.When I started making the hat, DD was totally into it. 

Create a frilly bit by rolling a small section of flyers into a tube. Secure with tape and then cut a fringe.

Create a frilly bit by rolling a small section of flyers into a tube. Secure with tape and then cut a fringe.

She was on her tippy toes beside me, eyebrows raised and chin tilted back as she peered up at the kitchen counter. It only took me about 5 minutes to create the hat, but that was 4.75 minutes too long. When I looked to my right after securing the hat with one last piece of tape, DD wasn’t there. Murphy’s law took effect and she had moved on to jumping on the couch.

I showed her the hat thinking that her excitement would be revived, but she looked at it with the healthy scepticism typical of a 2.5 year old. “No thank you,” were her exact words as I popped the hat on her head. She looked so cute for a split second…and then she couldn’t take it off fast enough. At least she was polite about it :S

Finished festive Christmas hat - not too shabby. Looks vaguely like a party hat.

Finished festive Christmas hat – not too shabby. Looks vaguely like a party hat.

So far, I’ve learned two important crafting lessons that are actually quite applicable in a broader sense. From my first post in this series, I’m reminded that the tools you select to make your vision come to life can make or break the end result. I will be very careful about when I use white glue again. From today’s post, I am reminded of one of the golden rules in communications: know your audience. While a festive Christmas hat may appeal to some, it’s not a fit for my daughter who doesn’t even like wearing socks on a daily basis. Obviously, my mistake.

Stay tuned for my next crafting attempt in a couple of days. If you have a craft idea that you’d like to suggest, or if you’d like to share any of your own experiences (successful or not), please post a comment below!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Holiday newspaper craft – Take 1 DIY: Holiday newspaper craft – Take 2 […]

Please leave a comment!

