My first podcast about experience communications…and the backstory

Experience communications, business storytelling, Hot Quill Communications, podcastI was ecstatic when Donna Papacosta invited me for an interview on her Trafcom News Podcast program. Donna and I met on LinkedIn after I shared about Experience communications in an IABC group discussion.

Here’s the link to Trafcom News Podcast 115: A new way to look at storytelling. You can also download the podcast on iTunes. In this interview, Donna and I talk about what happens before a story is told – the experiences that move people to tell or share stories about brands and businesses. We also talk about examples of what this looks like in the real world.

While I’m happy with the result of the podcast recording overall, this blog post wouldn’t be complete if I didn’t tell you about the backstory and how we arrived at this final version after my initial try was a bust. At first I wanted to forget about it all and just move on. But, as the saying goes, I think it’s important to learn from the past so we’re not doomed to repeat it.

Here goes.

Experience communications, podcast about business storytelling, a new way to look at storytellingAnother one bites the dust

The first time we recorded the podcast interview, I crashed and burned. I limped away from the crash site with bumps and bruises all over my ego, and a pretty beat up self-confidence. The next day, through the haze of self-doubt, over-analyzing, and feelings of ineptitude, I had two clear thoughts – “That was not my best,” and “I need to try again because I can’t leave Donna with that impression of me.” So, I asked for another chance.

Assessing, course-correcting and moving on

If you read my recent post about practicing your elevator speech into perfection, you may start to wonder if I have an issue about speaking in public or when I’m being recorded….and you’re right, I do. Like many others, I get downright nerve-wracked when someone hits the “record” button or if I have a mic in front of me. It’s taken me awhile to realize that, even though this happens, I can still speak publicly and confidently – I just need to get my thoughts straight in advance and practice to the point of committing my message to memory. This is not the same as reading a script. It’s more about the act of rehearsing and becoming intimate with the thoughts that you want to share so that you can convey them clearly in an interview or presentation. I also did something that I should’ve done the first time around – I asked for the interview questions in advance of the re-recording.

Experience communications, business storytelling, a new way to look at storytelling in communicationsThe rebound

I took some time to unwind and decompress between recordings, and then focused my efforts on writing out my thoughts in line with the questions Donna would be asking. Once I got the rough version down, I pared it back, edited the sentences for speaking points and reorganized the order of my thoughts to make sure the flow was natural. I researched a couple of good examples that I wanted to speak to, and I created a character – Jamie – to help personalise the concept of experience communications. I wanted my interview to stand out even further so I tried to reach out to listeners by giving them something to look up either during or after the podcast. It was important to me to acknowledge listeners who would be tuning in so that they felt like they were part of the interaction and not just flies on the wall.

In the end, I’m thankful for the learning experience – even though my pride still smarts a little when I think about it. At the very least, I was reminded that past failures don’t define or determine future successes…a lesson that I have a feeling I will learn and re-learn as my career as an entrepreneur unfolds.

Have you had a similar “crash and burn” experience? How did you recover? Did you find this helpful? Please do share your thoughts and comments with me by posting a message below or you can also find me on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.

Comments

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself, Roshan. You didn’t crash and burn! Many of us get a case of nerves when the mic is on. Your second try was a lot better, as you know.

    In general, I discourage podcast guests from writing a script because it’s difficult to sound natural. Also, I should point out that the podcast host should do his or her best to help the guest relax. I need to work on this. 😉

    • You are very kind, Donna 🙂 For me, this was a huge learning experience and it was very valuable. I really appreciated your patience and willingness to let me try again. I know that scripting isn’t the way to go in general. Writing out my thoughts in script form really helped me to organize my flow and make sure that I didn’t go down a rabbit hole or ramble (as I am wont to do). From my perspective, you were great at making me feel comfortable because you are genuinely warm and easy to talk to. I enjoyed getting to know you better through the podcast prep and I’m happy that we’re now connected 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] conference in Toronto, giving an Ignite Waterloo talk and recording a couple of podcasts – the first with Donna Papacosta and the second with Neel Aggarwal on his new podcast show (Episode 1). Speaking of Neel, we […]

Please leave a comment!

