Ache

"Ache" poetry by Roshan James, Kitchener, Waterloo, Ontario Canada

Text only:

Here’s what I think –

I’ll tell you how I feel
and you’ll say something about being flattered
or maybe it’s just that you don’t think of me
in that way

And I’ll do a really poor job
of pretending

And my heart will continue
breaking

Every day, shattering

into small

pieces

Smaller pieces

Into fragments
of pieces that are smaller
still

To keep you near and comfortable
So regularly will I allow my heart to shatter
That the tolerance for pain will shift
from anxiety to expectance

A sweet, sultry, seductive ache

Comments

  1. wordsarefullofletters says:

    Beautifully put into words! I’ve written few poems about love and break ups. I hope you get to read them and tell me what you think. English is not my language but I aim to be better at writing in english 🙂

  2. Too many times these feelings are experienced.

Please leave a comment!

